Author Topic: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10  (Read 270657 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BardBun

  • February 2020
  • 16 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • BardBun has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #240 on: May 06, 2020, 05:05 am »
Got the game installed and working how ever got to land 3 and te saves are not working even if i manual save or let it auto save i leave the game load up and back to the start of the level is annoying any clue runing windows 10 other than save problems run like a dream

You have to use Quicksave and Quickload to save and load your game properly.

The autosave and manual save you can forget, they don't work at all.

Offline BardBun

  • February 2020
  • 16 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • BardBun has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #241 on: May 06, 2020, 05:12 am »
Here is a new "runblack.exe" based on the 1.42 patch. (replace the file after installing 1.42)
This one was created by the Discord user "ayleia" from the B&W Discord.

https://cdn.discordapp.com/attachments/486640404192821278/704336576691568760/runblack.zip

It increases the drawing distance of (almost all) 3D models.
The only thing that still fades out is the land texture.

Still, this change also seems to slightly increase the performance overall on top of the amazing gameplay improvement of not having everything fade out in front of your face.


Apparently Matt is supposed to release an official mod of this on BWFiles soon?
So far no word on it though, so I thought I'd at least share this one made by ayleia, as it is an amazing quality of life improvement!

Offline Aaroniskill

  • May 2020
  • 1 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Aaroniskill has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #242 on: May 06, 2020, 06:53 pm »
I installed the game like this:

1. Open the CD-Folder
2. Run Autorun.exe as Administrator
3. Install the game and dont open it.
4. Installed the Add-ons in that order:  the leopard, the mandrill, the gorilla and the horse and the villager banter
5. Run as Admin and install Patch 1.1 and before finishing, it says my game does not have the correct version.
6. Run as Admin and install Patch 1.2 and before finishing, it says my game does not have the correct version.
7. Run as Admin and install FanPatch.
8. Setting the Resolution to 1920x1080.
9. Open the CD-Folder
10. Run Autorun.exe as Administrator
11. Select Start Game.
12. Getting the Intro.
13. When skipping the Intro/Trailer with esc, the game goes to the loading screen with a tip.
14. When it shows the Loadingscreen, the game instantly closes itselfe.


What is my problem here?

Also is there a Discord link to join the community?

Offline ElBartscho

  • May 2020
  • 1 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • ElBartscho has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #243 on: May 06, 2020, 08:00 pm »
I'm facing the same issue like Aaroniskill.
Intro getting played and after that game closes instant. Even when esc or playing the intro completly.

any Ideas?

I'm using WIN 10 64bit

I installed the game like this:

1. Open the CD-Folder
2. Run Autorun.exe as Administrator
3. Install the game and dont open it.
4. Installed the Add-ons in that order:  the leopard, the mandrill, the gorilla and the horse and the villager banter
5. Run as Admin and install Patch 1.1 and before finishing, it says my game does not have the correct version.
6. Run as Admin and install Patch 1.2 and before finishing, it says my game does not have the correct version.
7. Run as Admin and install FanPatch.
8. Setting the Resolution to 1920x1080.
9. Open the CD-Folder
10. Run Autorun.exe as Administrator
11. Select Start Game.
12. Getting the Intro.
13. When skipping the Intro/Trailer with esc, the game goes to the loading screen with a tip.
14. When it shows the Loadingscreen, the game instantly closes itselfe.


What is my problem here?

Also is there a Discord link to join the community?

Offline BardBun

  • February 2020
  • 16 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • BardBun has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #244 on: May 06, 2020, 08:56 pm »
You can find the Discord invite link if you go to the main bwfiles.com page and then it's on the left side "Join The Discord", a big blue button.


As for the game:

You have to start "runblack.exe" from the games directory as administrator.

Once you have finished installing the game and copying over the files (also the audio folder for music!!) you can remove the CD from your PC.
All there is to do then is install the patches and then start "runblack.exe" as admin.

Offline Lars

  • May 2020
  • 2 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Lars has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #245 on: May 08, 2020, 09:58 am »
Somehow i can only install the Fan Patch and i cant somehow Uninstall the Game? can you help me pls

Offline Lars

  • May 2020
  • 2 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Lars has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #246 on: May 08, 2020, 10:00 am »
and btw how do i delete these codes?

Offline BardBun

  • February 2020
  • 16 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • BardBun has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #247 on: May 08, 2020, 10:33 am »
Use RevoUninstallerPortable to properly uninstall everything.

Offline arkanosi

  • April 2019
  • 2 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • arkanosi has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #248 on: May 08, 2020, 02:16 pm »
I'm facing the same issue like Aaroniskill.
Intro getting played and after that game closes instant. Even when esc or playing the intro completly.

any Ideas?

I'm using WIN 10 64bit

Have the cd mounted when you start the game.

LE: I used wincdiso to make the .bin mountable, after that had it mounted on a virtual drive and everything works fine and dandy.

LE2: discord link is in the main page - the big button on the left side
« Last Edit: May 08, 2020, 02:19 pm by arkanosi »

Offline Jackty89

  • June 2020
  • 1 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • Jackty89 has no influence.
BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #249 on: Jun 02, 2020, 03:06 pm »
Got it to work nicely but if i want to play on my native resolution 1920x1080 the game is offset, if i set the settings to 1600x900 the game fills the screen properly. 1920x1080 https://imgur.com/uijWLAz
« Last Edit: Jun 02, 2020, 04:56 pm by Jackty89 »

Offline BardBun

  • February 2020
  • 16 Posts
  • Reputation Power: 1
  • BardBun has no influence.
Re: BW1 on Windows 7/8/10
« Reply #250 on: Jun 10, 2020, 09:50 pm »
Got it to work nicely but if i want to play on my native resolution 1920x1080 the game is offset, if i set the settings to 1600x900 the game fills the screen properly. 1920x1080 https://imgur.com/uijWLAz
Do you use more than one monitor?

In that case, enter the Windows Display Settings and change the monitor setting to "only use 1".
If you have more than one monitor with the duplicate or extend option it'll mess up the games display.